The Devil You Say?

I’m not a legal expert but this seems to me to have teeth, and to show compassion appropriate to anyone who says they possess a moral creed.

I prefer to let my conversations with Lucifer remain between us. Ill talk to just about anybody who will talk to me, and consider both “God”, “Jesus” and “The Devil”, the way I learned about them in my childhood to be powers, entities, that can be related to and worked with the same as any other being. Ive had some contact through Black Metal people and events, and they have been illustrative to me of the the power that can be had when our biological instincts are combined with theatrical ritual.

I consider myself to benefit from a rare position because I was never raised Christian. I had enough children in evangelical families to introduce some interesting ideas later on but they were not my foundational ideas. Thus I never had a Saviour, a Devil, someone tempting me to be evil and someone saving me from that. I don’t know what it would be like to be born and raised Christian but I see the effects. I see people who feel a calling or obligation to return to the Church, people who ascribe “temptation” and “sin” to an outside force (or even think that these are a thing), and especially who believe in or aspire to be a sacrificial figure for the benefit of the whole community. Ive seen people long separated from all Churches still express admiration for the “Idea of Christ”. Maybe later I will write a longer article of how I perceive Jesus.

My experience of Lucifer has led me to believe that he governs what happens when we deny our natural instincts. Sex, aggression, love, attraction, eating, sleep, just cutting loose and going out dancing once in a while, these are natural desires to have. I believe I avoid the attention of Lucifer by indulging these with moderation and temperance on occasion, rather than treating them with denial and suppression. I believe Lucifer represents what happens when suppressed desires become changed, extreme and harmful. This is not what the Satanic Temple believes, you can find their seven tenets here.

I applaud this kind of civic mindedness an altruism in any group, especially those with an ethical mandate. I am too socially-minded to commit to individual liberty to that extreme. I also am unwilling to base my understanding solely on what can be proven scientifically. But I don’t find the various tenets of Satanic groups to be more objectionable than any group in particular, and better than a lot.